About us

Radiation Safety Act 1975

The Radiation Safety Act regulates the keeping and use of radioactive substances, irradiating apparatus (eg x-ray equipment) and certain electronic products (eg lasers and UV transilluminators). The Act applies to both ionising and non-ionising radiation. Registration and licensing are the principal means by which the use of radiation is regulated.


Radiological Council

The Radiological Council is an independent statutory authority appointed under the Radiation Safety Act in Western Australia to assist the Minister for Health to protect public health and to maintain safe practices in the use of radiation.

Meetings are generally held on the second Tuesday of every month, with no meeting being held in January.

The members of the Council are outlined in the Council's Annual reports to the Minister. The terms of membership are in accordance with Section 13 of the Act.



Daily administration of the Act is handled by personnel of the Radiation Health Unit (Radiation Health), acting through the Secretary of the Council. The Unit has separate responsibilities to the Department of Health and is under the direction of the Managing Health Physicist.



The Radiological Council is responsible for the following legislation –

  • Radiation Safety Act 1975
  • Radiation Safety (General) Regulations 1983
  • Radiation Safety (Qualifications) Regulations 1980
  • Radiation Safety (Transport of Radioactive Substances) Regulations 2002

Electronic copies of the Radiation Safety Act and its regulations with the most recent amendments are available on the website of the Parliamentary Counsel's Office of the Department of Justice at www.legislation.wa.gov.au.

The Nuclear Waste Storage and Transportation (Prohibition) Act 1999 is administered by the Department of Health.


Codes of Practice and Radiation Standards

The Australian Codes of Practice and Radiation Protection Standards are available for free download through the website of the Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA). These documents may be cited directly in the Regulations, or in the Conditions, Restrictions and Limitations imposed on registrations and licences.

Australian Standards can be obtained from Standards Australia. A fee may be payable to obtain an Australian Standard from that site.


Radiation Safety on Mine Sites

Radiation Safety on certain mine sites is also subject to regulation administered by the Mines Safety Directorate of the Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety (DMIRS) in Western Australia.

The Work Health and Safety Act 2020 and accompanying regulations came into effect in 2022, replacing the Mines Safety and Inspection Act.

Approvals for the importation, mining and/or processing of naturally occurring radioactive material, and the management of tailings and residues from the processing activities are required from both the Radiological Council and the regulator under the Work Health and Safety Act 2020. This includes those matters pertaining to the nominated Radiation Safety Officer, Radiation Management Plan and Radioactive Waste Management Plan. Radiation monitoring reports are required to be submitted to both agencies.


Commonwealth Radiation Regulator

Radiation use by Commonwealth Government agencies in Australia is regulated by the Commonwealth's Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA) under the Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Act 1999. ARPANSA does not regulate State Government agencies. 

Last Updated: 13/01/2023